top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLillaMilla

Cereal Milk Cheesecake

My boyfriend is a huge fan of cereal. I mean seriously huge. He could probably eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I can't say I don't understand where he is coming from because I would probably do the same if I could. Only difference between us is really that I've always been more of a chocolate-y cereal fan where as he's a man of a simpler taste and goes for the sugared cereals.

So when I started thinking about cereal milk as a flavor for baking, I realized how my cereal preferences had been affected by him because my mind didn't immediately go to the caramel-y and chocolate-y flavor of milk left from a bowl of Lion-cereal, but instead went to the sugar-y milk left from a bowl of Captain Crunch. Of course chocolate cereal milk cheesecake would be very much like chocolate cheesecake so maybe that also had an influence, but it just doesn't make for as cool a story as this did..

Anyway, this was one of those recipes that I played around with in my head for so long, thinking about the different ways I could make it and decorate it. So it was so great when I finally had the time and chance to make it. The best thing about this recipe is that you can make it using your favorite cereal. I used Frosties (or Frosted Flakes, depending on which part of the world you're in), but you can make this with Coco Pops, Captain Crunch or Lion cereal too! The only cereal I would be careful with are those that are dyed in different colors (Trix, Fruit Loops, etc), since there's no knowing how the color will turn out. But go give this recipe a try and let me know which cereal you used and how it turned out!

No Bake Cereal Milk Cheesecake

Servings: 6-8 slices


Ingredients:

Crust:

100g. graham

50g. melted butter

½ tsp vanilla extract

Filling:

5dl whipping cream

7 dl cereal + a handful for decoration (I used Frosties or Frosted Flakes)

175g. cream cheese

250g. mascarpone cheese

1 ½ dl powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract


1. Start off by making the cereal and cream mixture. Place the cereal and cream together into a bowl and set aside in the fridge. Allow the mixture to sit for at least 2 hours.

2. Start making the crust by melting the butter in a pot. Crush the cookies and pour them into the same pot as the butter. Add in the vanilla extract and mix well.

3. Press the cookie mixture into a 15x15cm round cake tray and start preparing the filling.

4. Strain the cereal out of the cereal and whipping cream mixture using a strainer. Whip the cream and set aside.

5. Mix the cream cheese and the mascarpone cheese together in a separate bowl. Whisk in the powdered sugar and vanilla extract.

6. Using a licker, gently add in the whipped cereal cream. Once combined, pour in the filling on top of the crust.

7. Place the cheesecake in the fridge to set for at least 3 hours.

8. Before serving, crush a handful of cereal on top of the cake for decoration.


bottom of page